How to End a Relationship on Facebook

You may need to change your relationship status to “Single” after ending a relationship. The end of a relationship is never a happy time, and ending it publicly can be especially difficult. You can easily end a relationship status on Facebook while keeping it private.

Method 1: Terminating a Relationship Through the Facebook Website

1. Please sign in to your Facebook account. You must sign into your account to remove a current relationship status from your user profile.

Go to the Facebook home page and enter your registered email address and password in the fields at the top right corner of the page.

To gain access to your user account, click “Log in.”

2. Navigate to the “Family and Relationships” section. To break up with an existing user on Facebook, you must edit and update your relationship information in your profile’s “About” section.

On your home page, click the “Edit Profile” link in the upper left corner.

Scroll down a little and click on the “Family and Relationships” tab under the “About” section on the left side bar. At the top, you’ll see all of your current relationship statuses, as well as your partner’s username and profile picture.

3. Set the privacy level to “Only me.” If you want to keep these changes to your relationship private, change the privacy settings first. Click the down arrow to the left of the “Save changes” button to do so. The privacy settings options will be displayed as a drop-down list.

Scroll to the bottom of the list and select “Only me.” Your relationship status is now private, and only you can see that it has ended.

This is entirely optional. Select “Friends” instead if you want your friends to know.

After you’ve properly set the privacy, tap “Save changes.”

4. Put an end to the relationship. When you hover your mouse pointer over the name of your current relationship, a “Edit” link will appear to the right side of the name. Select the “Edit” option.

Click the drop-down list next to the title “Relationship Status.” This will reveal various relationship statuses. Choose the first one, which has three hyphens (—-). This will result in your relationship status remaining “blank.” You can also choose the second option, “Single.”

After selecting “blank” or “Single,” your ex-profile partner’s name, picture, and anniversary date will be removed.

If your privacy settings are set to “Only me,” your ex-partner will not be notified of the changes; however, if your privacy settings are set to “Public” or “Friends,” your ex-partner will be notified. It makes no difference whether he or she accepts the notification; your new status will be updated on your profile as soon as you save.

5. Remember to save your new status. This is done by clicking the “Save changes” button just below the relationship status drop-down list.

Method 2: Terminating a Relationship Using the Facebook App

1. Start Facebook and sign in. Locate and tap on Facebook on your device’s home screen or app drawer.

Fill in your registered email address and password in the fields in the middle of the screen, then tap “Log in” to gain access to your account.

2. Examine your profile. To open the left side bar, tap the three vertical lines in the top left corner of the screen, followed by your profile name.

3. Navigate to the Relationships page. Once your profile has loaded, go to the top of the page and tap “About.”

Tap on the “More about you” link when you find it. This will load all of your editable information.

Scroll down until you find “Relationship” on the “More about you” page. Once you’ve found it, click the “Edit” button to the right of “Relationship.”

4. Set the privacy level to “Only me.” If you want to keep any changes to your relationship private, change the privacy settings first. To do so, tap the people icon in the bottom left corner (the icon also has a down arrow on it). The privacy settings options will be displayed as a drop-down list.

Scroll to the bottom of the list and select “Only me.” Ending your relationship status will now be kept private.

This is entirely optional. Select “Friends” instead if you want your friends to know.

Once you’ve selected the appropriate level of privacy, press the “Save” button.

5. Put an end to the relationship. Tap your current relationship status, which should be just below the “Relationship” heading. A down arrow should be next to the status.

Choose the very first option on the list, three hyphens (—-). This will result in your relationship status remaining “blank.” You can also choose the second option, “Single.”

After selecting “blank” or “Single,” your ex-profile partner’s name, picture, and anniversary date will be removed.

If your privacy settings are set to “Only me,” your ex-partner will not be notified of the changes; however, if your privacy settings are set to “Public” or “Friends,” your ex-partner will be notified. It makes no difference whether he or she accepts the notification; your new status will be updated on your profile as soon as you save.

6. Remember to save your new status. Tap “Save” on the line below the relationship status drop-down list to the right of the screen.

Creative Commons License

Visit for:  How To  |  News  |  Shopping  |  Outsourcing